Can you delete a shared Google Doc?

If you delete a shared document, spreadsheet, or presentation that you own, it will be completely removed for all collaborators, and they will no longer have access to the document. Before deleting a document, you may want to make someone else its owner so that others can still access it.

Can someone delete a shared Google Doc?

If someone shared a file or folder with you that you don’t want to see anymore, you can remove it. Go to drive.google.com. … Right click the file you want to remove. Click Remove.

What happens when you remove a shared document in Google Drive?

When you remove a shared file, be it within the shared with me or in your own drive, it really just removes the shortcut to that file. If you had access before, you will still have access after. If you click the link to that file after you remove it, the file will reappear in the shared with me section.

How do I permanently delete a shared document?

After deleting a file, anyone you’ve shared the file with will lose access to it.

Permanently delete an individual file

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Docs, Sheets, or Slides app.
  2. In the upper left, tap Menu .
  3. Tap Trash.
  4. Next to the file you’d like to delete, tap More .
  5. Tap Delete forever.
THIS IS FUN:  Best answer: Do cash dividends affect liabilities?

Why can’t I delete a document in Google Docs?

Right-click on the file and select “Share.” See if there are any public share settings that have a slider that you can turn off by moving the slider to the left. If there are, that should remove the document from the Docs home screen. If there aren’t, try the other option above instead.

Does deleting a shared file delete it for everyone?

When you remove a shared file that doesn’t belong to any folder, the file is removed from your Google Drive view. Since you are not the owner of the file, it’s not actually deleted for everyone. The owner and the users who have access to the shared file can still use it normally.

How do I remove a shared file from Google Drive?

3.4 Delete a shared drive

  1. Make sure the shared drive is empty. If you want to keep files or folders, move them to My Drive. Or, to delete them, move them to the trash.
  2. Right-click the shared drive that you want to delete. click Delete shared drive.
  3. Click Delete Shared Drive to confirm.

How do I delete multiple shared files in Google Drive?

Also, if you want to delete multiple files at once, then you have to long-press on all the files and folders to select them, and then tap on the delete icon, and you are all done.

Why can’t I delete a shared Google Drive?

UNprotect a file or folder. Open your Google Drive account and check for the files in My Drive and Shared Drive. If the files are located in Shared Drive then they cannot be deleted. Else if the file is in My Drive then try using some other browse or clear cache and try again.

THIS IS FUN:  What is an illegal dividend?

How do you delete documents on Google Docs?

Put a file in the trash

  1. On your computer, open Google Docs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Next to the file you want to delete, click More. Remove.
  3. The file will be moved to the trash section of Drive. Learn more about finding and recovering files in the “Trash” section of Drive.

How do I delete documents from documents?

You can delete a document, spreadsheet or presentation from the Google Docs, Sheets and Slides home screens.

Put a file in the bin

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Docs, Sheets or Slides app.
  2. Next to the file that you want to delete, tap More .
  3. Tap Remove.

How do you quickly delete Google Docs?

Step #1 Open the Google Docs app on your Android. Search for the file where you want to delete the extra page. Step #2 Highlight the text and image that you want to delete. Step #3 Tap on the Backspace or Delete key on your phone keyboard.